Reverting to type (-ing)

I have been toying with the idea of writing a blog ever since I started my journalism career way back in 2007 and realistically speaking, I’ve probably missed the boat a little. If I’d started when my mum said I should back then, the blogosphere was a hell of a lot less crowded and it might have been a little easier to make my voice heard. But oh well (sorry mum!), we’re here now and I might as well give it a go.

I write for a living with long hours and lots of deadlines, so in my defence, writing a blog in my spare time is a bit like asking a decorator to finish her own house. Maybe one day. But enough with the excuses.

I gave birth to Cassius on the 7th June this year, which makes him just over nine weeks old. And I’m ready. In the first few weeks, there is no way I had the energy, time or inclination to write a word. Woah. I may have been a little lot unprepared for what was to come but I certainly didn’t expect what I got.

It is fair to say I breezed through pregnancy – I think I felt better genuinely because I wasn’t actually hungover all the time like I normally am – but giving birth wasn’t exactly a walk in the park. Then Cass lost too much weight because he wasn’t feeding properly as he had a tongue tie and we were rushed back into A&E, which was very scary. More on that another time but it meant the first couple of weeks were a heady mix of not enough sleep, lots of crying combined with a heatwave. In a very well insulated newbuild flat, I was every bit sweaty and desperate as you can imagine.

To cut a long story short, with amazing help from Tower Hamlets Babyfeeding Service (long live the NHS) the tongue tie was diagnosed quickly and separated and we settled into some kind of routine.

And while I am loving getting to know my little guy and exploring what’s going on for babies locally, it turns out I’m missing writing, finding things out and doing something creative. I’m planning to share some of my experiences, adventures and utter mishaps here, as well as hopefully some stories from other mums who have done amazing things while raising a child.

Hope you enjoy reading!

Tara x

Leave a comment